[YES] Aberguine Silver Fox Partial by MoreFurLess

IMG_20160611_171247b

General InfoHeadBodysuitHands and FeetTailsWingsOverall Satisfaction & Scoring
Your Username
FurryNetwork: beta.furrynetwork.com/aberguine/
FA: aberguine (I have not been able to access my account because of recent problems with the site.)

Item Being Reviewed
Character name, type of commission, etc. This will be used to help title the submission on FursuitReview
Character name: Aberguine
species: silver fox
partial fursuit (head, tail, hand paws, feet paws, arm and leg sleeves)

Name of Maker and Links
MoreFurLess
www.morefurless.com/
www.furaffinity.net/user/morefurless
(Click here for more reviews of MoreFurLess)

Are you reviewing a friend?
No.

Do you have any prior experience with fursuits?
None outside of watching fursuit videos.

Character Concept Art
aberguine.deviantart.com/art/Aberguine-Reference-Sheet-549823639?q=gallery%3AAberguine%2F29009050&qo=8

Photos of Completed Product
aberguine.deviantart.com/art/IT-S-HAPPENING-598234441

Unboxing and suit-up video: www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fbGTbMf7Yg

Date Commissioned or Bought
September 2015

Date Completed or Shipped
Shipped April 1, 2016

Completion Time
(How completion times are calculated.)
[show_post_categories show="category" parentcategory="Time" hyperlink="yes"]
 

Price Paid
$1985 USD

(This review is filed under a sort by price of $1000 and Over)

Date of Review
June 11, 2016

Do you currently still own the item(s) you’re reviewing?
Yes.

Price Sold For
If you have sold the suit/parts since this review, how much did you sell for? Put N/A if not sold or leave blank if you decline to say.
N/A

Did the maker meet your deadline?
I did not request a deadline. They told me that they would start construction in Feb 2016, and it wasn’t completed until late March 2016. In hindsight, it wasn’t a ridiculous wait time, but boy was I anxious at the time!

Did you tell the maker about any issues you had?
No.

How many hours have you worn/used the item(s) you’re reviewing?
Give your best estimate.
10-12 hours.

HEAD
The following questions ask you to explain how satisfied you are with each feature of the head of the costume. If you are reviewing only a set of ears, your answers would also go in this section.

Wear Satisfaction
Please describe how it is to wear this piece of your costume.
Are you satisfied with how it fits you? How is the ventilation? How is the vision?

Are you satisfied with how it fits you?

Yes! The fit is not too tight or loose, nothing stabs or pokes me, and it has a comfy liner that seems to be made of a sweat wicking fabric (I’m not sure if it’s polyester. I was worried that there wouldn’t be enough room inside the head for me to wear my glasses, but I can comfortably wear them!

How is the ventilation?

I can breathe normally, and the air seems to circulate through the head just fine. There are times I notice my glasses fogging up, but that’s usually if I’m already hot.
The wide mouth of the costume and the eye holes provide enough ventilation to keep me from dying of heatstroke (though having the air conditioning turned up helps!).

How is the vision?

I can see pretty well in front of me; it’s like having my face pushed up against a window screen. There is a blind spot in between the eyes, but I hardly ever notice it(I didn’t even notice it my first time putting the head on!). I usually don’t have to turn my head to see to one side or the other, but I’m still getting used to the nose getting in the way!

Appearance Satisfaction
Please describe how satisfied you are with how your costume piece looks from the outside.
How is the symmetry? Is the shaving even? How does the fur feel and look? How satisfied are you with the overall expression and appearance of the head? Does it match the concept art?

How is the symmetry?

The symmetry is spot-on!

Is the shaving even?

Yup! I cannot see the backing anywhere, the fur is not choppy, and the transitions are beautifully executed.

How does the fur feel and look?

Overall, it’s great! There is a bit of airbrushing at some of the borders of different colors of fur and around the eyes, but I generally don’t bother to brush it because the fur is so short and in places that are tough to reach with a brush.

How satisfied are you with the expression and overall appearance of the head?

Aberguine looks just like the happy-go-lucky character I envisioned in my mind! The eyes are follow-me, and I feel that I can achieve different expressions from different angles, even though I didn’t get MFL’s signature movable eyebrows.

Does it match the concept art?

Pretty closely! I wish the “hair floof” on the left side of the head stood taller/had more volume, and I failed to mention to MFL that the black marking on the snout was meant to be a gradient for the entire length of the snout. I think the solid black marking is growing on me, though, and the “hair floof” in question is constructed like a cone with an open tip; I could add stuffing to give it more volume.

Special Attachments and Features
Please describe how satisfied you are with any extra features your head has.
What are they and how do they work? How easy are they to wear? How is the quality?

What are they and how do they work?

I ordered Aberguine with two exchangeable fabric tongues, one short and one long. They have a velcro backing that sticks into the bottom jaw of the costume head.

How easy are they to wear?

Very easy! Stick and go! I haven’t had a need to change out the tongues while wearing the suit, but I imagine it would take some time to get used to doing myself.

How is the quality?

The quality is great! I barely notice they’re there, and they give Aberguine a great look!

BODYSUIT
The following questions ask you to explain how satisfied you are with each feature of the body of the costume.
If you are reviewing armsleeves or legs/pants that are seperate from a bodysuit, your answers would also go in this section.

Wear Satisfaction
Please describe how it is to wear this piece of your costume.
How satisfied are you with how the body fits? How is the quality and durability? What is the interior like? How is the airflow?

How satisfied are you with how the body fits?

I’m happy with how the arm and leg sleeves fit. There is enough room for a wide range of movement, and they’re comfortable to wear.

How is the quality and durability?

The fit is loose enough to move without fear of popping a seam.

What is the interior like? Is it lined?

The interiors of the arm and leg sleeves are not lined, it’s just the backing of the fur.

How is the airflow?

There is enough airflow that there are times I don’t mind wearing the arm sleeves, but they’re usually the first things I want to take off after suiting!

Appearance Satisfaction
Please describe how satisfied you are with how your costume piece looks from the outside.
How is the symmetry? Is the shaving even? How does the fur feel and look? How satisfied are you with the selection of colors and materials used?

How is the symmetry?

Symmetry is great!

Is the shaving even?

There doesn’t seem to be any shaving on it; the grey parts of the sleeves are the normal length while the black parts are a shorter fur.

How does the fur feel and look?

It looks and feels great! There’s no airbrushing, and the fur is easily brushed smooth.

How satisfied are you with the selection of colors and materials used?

I’m very pleased with the colors and materials used. I’m glad they chose to go with a shorter fur on the lower arms and lower legs!

HANDS AND FEET
The following questions ask you to explain how satisfied you are with each feature of the hands and feet of the costume.

Wear Satisfaction
Please describe how it is to wear these pieces of your costume.
How satisfied are you with how the hands and feet fit? How is the quality and durability? What is the interior like?

How satisfied are you with how the hands and feet fit?

The hands and feet are comfortable to wear. There is the expected bulkiness of the feet that makes it awkward to walk, and the expected loss of dexterity in the hand paws, but I don’t think the loss of movement in either of these is anything exceptional as far as fursuits go. Neither my ankles nor my wrists show if I bend too far. The feet paws stay on just fine, but if I wave my hands too much, the paws will slip. It’s all comfortable to put on.

How is the quality and durability?

The seams are durable; I can move without fear of popping seams. No paw pads nor claws have fallen off.

What is the interior like? Is it lined?

The interior of the hand paws are not lined, but they’re not uncomfortable. The shoe base used in the feet seems to be a closed-toed slip on shoe.

Appearance Satisfaction
Please describe how satisfied you are with how your costume pieces look from the outside.
How is the symmetry? Is the shaving even? How does the fur feel and look? How satisfied are you with the selection of colors and materials used?

How is the symmetry?

Nothing is lopsided! There are no markings on the hands/feet; they’re all a solid black.

Is the shaving even?

It seems that they used a short enough fur that it didn’t require shaving.

How does the fur feel and look?

The fur looks and feels great! The short length of the fur makes brushing the fur really easy.

How satisfied are you with the selection of colors and materials used?

Yup! The paw pads on the hand paws are fleece, while the bottoms of the feet have a thick rubbery sole.

TAILS
The following questions ask you to explain how satisfied you are with each feature of the tail(s) of the costume.

Wear Satisfaction
Please describe how it is to wear these pieces of your costume.
How satisfied are you with how the tail(s) fit? How is the quality and durability?

How satisfied are you with how the tail(s) fit?

The tail is fixed to two kidney belts that hold it snugly in place. I can almost move normally, plus the kidney belts give my tail a lovely bouncy/swaying motion when I walk.

How is the quality and durability?

The seams are durable, I can move without popping any of them. Nothing has fallen off. I have not tried pulling on my tail, but I don’t think it’d come undone very easily. The kidney belt straps are secure and even. The tail seems to be padded with either upholstery foam or tightly-packed with stuffing, I’m not sure which. Either way, it looks and moves just right!

Appearance Satisfaction
Please describe how satisfied you are with how your costume pieces look from the outside.
How is the symmetry? Is the shaving even? How does the fur feel and look? How satisfied are you with the selection of colors and materials used?

How is the symmetry?

The overall shape of the tail and the markings seem to be symmetrical!

Is the shaving even?

It doesn’t seem that there is any shaving outside of where the tail attaches to the kidney belts, but it doesn’t take away from the rest of the fur on the tail.

How does the fur feel and look?

The fur looks and feels great! There is no airbrushing to worry with.

How satisfied are you with the selection of colors and materials used?

Yes! I wasn’t expecting them to use fur that was as long as it was for the white tail tip, but I love it!

WINGS
The following questions ask you to explain how satisfied you are with each feature of the wings of the costume.

Wear Satisfaction
Please describe how it is to wear these pieces of your costume.
How satisfied are you with how the wings fit? How is the quality and durability?

N/A

Appearance Satisfaction
Please describe how satisfied you are with how your costume pieces look from the outside.
How is the symmetry? Is the shaving even? How does the fur feel and look? How satisfied are you with the selection of colors and materials used?

N/A

Special Attachments and Features
Please describe how satisfied you are with any extra features your wings have. This includes UV reactivity, EL wire, uniquely placed squeakers or padding, special articulation, or anything else unique if it wasn’t covered previously.
What are the features and how do they work? How easy are they to wear or use? How is the quality?

N/A

OVERALL VISUAL SATISFACTION
The following questions ask how satisfied you are with the overall visual aspects associated with the costume.

How satisfied are you with how closely the suit matches the concept art?
If there was no concept art, please state N/A
The suit seems to match my concept art pretty closely, with the exceptions of the black marking on the snout, but that was due to a failure to communicate on my part.

How satisfied are you with how well everything fits together and matches up?
Do you markings match up at the seams? Are the colors consistent?
Everything looks consistent!

MAKER INTERACTION AND COMMISSION PROCESS
The following questions ask how satisfied you are with all the aspects of communication between you and the maker.

How satisfied are you with how easy it was to initially contact the maker for a quote?
Yes. I had been watching their Twitter account and saw that they were open for quotes and commissions, so I contacted them and got a response within 24 hours.

How satisfied are you with the response time from the maker?
How long did it take them to respond?
They typically responded to my emails within 24 hours.

How satisfied are you with the level of professionalism and friendliness of the maker?
Were they pleasant to work with?
Yes, I always got a clear, concise answer to my inquiries and they were pleasant to work with.

How satisfied are you with how the deadline was met for completion of your project?
Were any deadlines missed or was it done early?
I did not request any deadlines for my suit to be completed by, but I was told that they start construction on my suit in February 2016. The suit was completed in late March 2016, and I picked it up from the post office on April 1st, 2016.

How satisfied are you with the overall quality of your project?
The overall quality of my fursuit is superb!

How satisfied are you with the overall customer service with the maker?
I really didn’t have a whole lot of questions for them while I was waiting, but for the few times I did, they were prompt with their responses and they had good answers to my questions.

Describe your experience. What were the pros and cons of working with this maker? And any final comments?
In autumn 2015, I followed MoreFurLess on Twitter to keep an eye on their activity, and in September 2015, I saw that they opened their quotes and commissions. I requested a quote, snagged a commission spot, and paid up front in early Sept 2015. I did not request a deadline, but I was told that they were hoping to start my project in February 2016. Construction began on my suit in Feb 2016, and they were nearing completion a month later. Come April 1st, 2016, Aberguine had made it home!

Pros: More Fur Less was very prompt in their responses (usually within 24 hrs) and they always gave clear, concise answers to the questions I had.

Cons: If you try to follow them on any site outside of Twitter, you’ll have no idea when they’re open for quotes/commissions, but this is generally true of any fursuit maker.

My final comment to anyone new to buying a fursuit from any maker: always request a deadline. I remember being so anxious waiting for my suit to be completed!

I figure that requesting a deadline is a safe strategy because it will (hopefully) ensure that
A) the maker doesn’t put your project on a back burner for an indefinite amount of time, and
B) if it goes way past that deadline and the maker has not fulfilled their end of the bargain, you could reasonably request a refund.

Just to clarify, I DID NOT have this problem with MoreFurLess, but this was something I generally learned about the process of commissioning a fursuit. I knew what I was getting myself into when I chose to not request a deadline, and waiting one month after the date MFL said they intended to start my project was not unreasonable.

FINAL SCORE
Please pick a score that you feel honestly reflects your commissioning experience as a whole, including the quality of your item(s), the appearance, and how you were treated by the maker.

[YES] Positive!

[YES] Positive = The reviewer would recommend this maker to another
[OK] Neutral = The reviewer may or may not recommend this maker, depending on certain circumstances (reviewer clarifies what these are)
[NO] Negative = The reviewer would not recommend this maker to another, unless the maker significantly changes their practices




DO NOT LEAVE COMMENTS ASKING TO BUY THINGS!
This site does not sell any costumes!