[OK] Coyote Head by Mordrudes Monsters

coy

Please note that this review utilizes a form that is no longer in use. As such, the questions and format differ slightly from other reviews.

 

General InfoHeadVisual & Communication AspectsOverall Satisfaction & Scoring

Your Username
Bornes

Item Being Reviewed
Character name, type of commission, etc. This will be used to help title the submission on FursuitReview
Coyote Head

Name of Maker
Mordrudes Monsters

Maker’s Website or Furaffinity Page
mordrudesmonsters
www.mordrudesmonsters.com

Are you reviewing a friend?
No

Character Concept Art
N/A

Photos of Completed Product
i.imgur.com/RfzhUwL.png

Date Commissioned or Bought
August/September 2012

Date Completed or Shipped
Feb 2013 or May 2013 (depending… Described later)

Price Paid
$600

Date of Review
August 2015

Do you currently still own the item(s) you’re reviewing?
No.

Price Sold For
If you have sold the suit/parts since this review, how much did you sell for? Put N/A if not sold or leave blank if you decline to say.
$500

Did the maker meet your deadline?
No. It wasn’t even my deadline… It was her own. And it was “guaranteed.” I wouldn’t have bought it otherwise.

Did you tell the maker about any issues you had?
Yes and no.

How many hours have you worn/used the item(s) you’re reviewing?
Give your best estimate.
20+

Do you have any prior experience with fursuits?
Yes.

HEAD
The following questions ask how satisfied you are with each feature of the head of the fursuit.

How satisfied are you with the fit of the head?
Is it too tight or loose? Does anything poke you, stab you, make it uncomfortable to wear? Is it lined comfortably?
When I originally ordered the head, I don’t know what I was thinking. I told Mordrude my head was 25″. My head is actually 22.5 – 23″. It’s no surprise that when the head came (in Feb 2013), it was way too big and I couldn’t wear it properly. This was entirely my fault, obviously.

I told Mordrude about this and she offered to pad it up to make it smaller. So I sent it back and she fixed it up, VERY WELL, actually, and I received it again in May 2013. It was still a little big in the back, mostly because Mordrude said if she padded it any more it would lose the articulated jaw. I didn’t want that, so I just wore a backwards ballcap under it afterward. It was comfortable and worked out fine. (I can and have worn it without the ballcap underneath, totally doable and also comfortable, but the jaw is a bit harder to use without it)

The padded head is very comfortable. The head is extremely breathable. This head (after padding) is the most comfortable head I’ve worn. Mordrude uses the best parts and constructs her heads the best so far that I’ve seen. I don’t think any maker has yet to match the quality of this head.

How is the ventilation?
Can you breathe well? Is the mask stuffy? Does the air circulate through your head?
Very breathable! Which is surprising to me. The head was very easy to wear, like I said before, the easiest and best head I’ve worn by far. I don’t know what exact materials she uses, but they are soft and comfortable and don’t smell weird. There’s room in the head for glasses, etc., etc.
It’s really everything you could ask for on the interior of a resin head.

How is the vision?
Can you see well in front of you? Is there a large blind spot? Do you have to turn your head to see? (Note: most suits do not have peripheral vision)
Expected for this this type of head.

How is the symmetry?
Are the eyes or ears lopsided? Are the markings symmetrical per character design?
It was a little lopsided, in the ears and in the mouth. It seemed like one side of the mouth has a bit of a snarl, which was weird. It never really bothered me that much, as this was an artistic liberty commission.

Is the shaving even?
Can you see the backing? Is it choppy? Is the transition to long fur what you were looking for?
Yes, outside it looks great.

How satisfied are you with the expression and overall appearance of the head?
The expression is a little weird, and has a high learning curve. But once you master what angles everything produces, the head actually has a high number of expressions you can achieve.

Some friends I have said they didn’t like it, that the eyes were too far apart and the mouth was weird or whatever. But honestly I never noticed that. It looks fine to me.

 

VISUAL ASPECTS
The following questions ask how satisfied you are with visual aspects associated with the fursuit.

How satisfied are you with how closely the suit matches the concept art?
If there was no concept art, please state N/A
This was an artistic liberty commission so there technically was no concept art but I’m filling this out because of what happened.

Back in 2012, Mordrude put out for a “rush commission” that guaranteed to be done by (I think) Halloween of that year. She gave additional discounts for artistic liberty commissions and certain species, so I wanted to get in on that action.

I told her I wanted “A coyote with a black snout.” And everything else was artist’s choice.

When she picked me, she asked for a reference photo for the coyote. I didn’t think much of it since it was artist’s preference, so I just grabbed one of the first photos off google image search of a Coyote.

This ended up being the worst thing I could’ve done. Mordrude replicated the coyote photo EXACTLY, and the coyote I happened to pull was extremely light. So the one thing I really wanted – black snout – was impossible to do without it looking ridiculous. So of course, Mordrude refused to do it.

When she uploaded the pics of the “finished” head, I noted how light it was… She offered to airbrush some black markings on it, and overall she did manage to darken the head quite a bit, but because of that and other problems during the commissioning process, I just wasn’t really liking the head at all.

How satisfied are you with how well everything fits together and matches up?
Do you markings match up at the seams? Are the colors consistent?
Well. When I originally commissioned Mordrude for the “coyote head with black snout,” I commissioned handpaws from someone else.

I contacted Mordrude to ask what the main fur she was using was. She told me, and I relayed that to the person doing my handpaws. Because the head was supposed to have a black snout, I made the handpaws have black fingertips.

Since the head never got the black snout, the paws looked dumb with the head. Also too light. I sent the paws with the head to Mordrude to fix (fix the head sizing, and she agreed to airbrush the paws to make them match the head better).

But when I got the paws back, she had barely airbrushed them at all. I’m not sure what I was expecting. I mean there wasn’t much she could do. But I was still really upset by that.
Paw photos (only the grey part was airbrushed)

COMMUNICATION
The following questions ask how satisfied you are with all the aspects of communication between you and the maker.

How satisfied are you with how easy it was to initially contact the maker for a quote?
Mordrude was extremely easy to initially contact– She made a journal saying she was accepting a slot for a realistic head commission, and it was guaranteed to be done later that year. I sent her my idea and she agreed to do it. She was very nice.

How satisfied are you with the response time from the maker?
How long did it take them to respond?
Despite thinking Mordrude has hands down the best quality in fursuits (in materials, process, and outcome), I was so turned off by her lack of deadlines that I will never commission her. If she makes premades, I’ll be over it. But I will not commission her again.

As stated previously, she made a journal saying she was going to do a “rush head slot” and the head was GUARANTEED to be done later that year. I am pretty sure it was by Halloween. She made that journal in September or August 2012. I’m pretty sure I was accepted almost immediately. But my head wasn’t finished until February NEXT YEAR (2014). My head wasn’t even STARTED until WELL AFTER my commission was received.

The only reason I got something from her was because it was “rush”.. What point is a guarantee if you cannot keep up to YOUR OWN word?

When I mentioned the sizing issues (again, 100% my fault and I don’t blame her at all for that), and the handpaw issues, and I sent the head and paws to her, I didn’t see them again until MAY.

Every time I emailed her, it was always “Oh, this work will only take me 2 days.” What she failed to mention, MANY TIMES, was that she wouldn’t start on the work until all of her other work was done… But she had no public queue, so I couldn’t tell when she was going to even start on my stuff. I don’t remember if I ever said anything to her about how long it was taking, but I was really, really pissed.

I asked her multiple times for just AN IDEA of when it would be done, and I think, after a month or so, she finally said “I have 2 heads to finish before yours” and that was as close as I got to anything specific. Which, as I’m sure you can tell, is not specific at all.

The only consolation for all this was that she airbrushed the paws for me, added some extra whiskers, and I believe she did the extra padding for free. Small concession I guess for breaking her own guarantee…

How satisfied are you with the level of professionalism and friendliness of the maker?
Were they pleasant to work with?
She’s professional as can be with the wording she uses and her response times to emails. But as far as her queue goes and how they answer questions about estimated turnaround time, it pissed me off so much that, like I said, I would never commission her again.

OVERALL
The following questions ask how satisfied you are with your overall experience with the maker and the fursuit itself.

How satisfied are you with how the deadline was met for completion of your project?
Were any deadlines missed or was it done early?
I explained this above already, in the “response time” part.

But TL;DR: Not at all satisfied. Very, very pissed. Was supposed to be guaranteed to be finished in October 2012. Was not finished until February 2013 or May depending on how you want to count “finished.”

How satisfied are you with the overall quality of your project?
Like I stated previously, the quality of the head itself is unparalleled. I would absolutely jump to pay whatever price Mordrude wants for her fursuits/parts.. If they were premade.

But due to the weird way she went about with the “artistic liberty” commission (see reference picture portion of review), the passed deadlines, the vague ETAs… I ended up with a really amazing fursuit head that I just wanted nothing to do with.

I think I had it for about a month before I decided I wanted to sell it. I only kept holding on to it for as long as I did because I knew what it was worth. I got that head for a steal at $600– that head is LEAGUES better than heads I’ve paid $900 for. So I only sold it once I could get at least $500. Which took almost 2 years. But I got it, and I hope the new owner is really happy with their coyote head.

It’s amazing. But it had too many negative feelings associated with it. I really did TRY to like this head, and wore it several times. But I just couldn’t.

How satisfied are you with the overall customer service with the maker?
She needs to have a public queue and estimated turn around times that use actual, definitive, units of measurements. ETAs should include how long it takes to start work on your project PLUS how long it takes to actually work on your project.

Only quoting the second part without the first will just piss people off because it makes me think that 1. You don’t care about my commission, 2. you’re a liar and I should be on your back for slacking off and not delivering when you say you will.

How does “two days” turn into 2-3 months?? By presenting a terribly misguided ETA, that’s how.
Please don’t do that to anyone else.

Since my commission, I’m pretty sure she has only being doing premade stuff now.

Describe your experience. What were the pros and cons of working with this maker? And any final comments?
AMAZING quality and materials and end product.

Horrible commissioning process and cannot follow her own deadlines.

FINAL SCORE

Please pick a score that you feel honestly reflects your commissioning experience as a whole, including the quality of your item(s), the appearance, and how you were treated by the maker.

Neutral. Amazing quality and materials and end product… Misleading commissioning process and cannot follow deadlines.

[YES] Positive = The reviewer would recommend this maker to another
[OK] Neutral = The reviewer may or may not recommend this maker, depending on certain circumstances (reviewer clarifies what these are)
[NO] Negative = The reviewer would not recommend this maker to another, unless the maker significantly changes their practices




DO NOT LEAVE COMMENTS ASKING TO BUY THINGS!
This site does not sell any costumes!